Wunderhorse has shared his debut album, ‘Cub’, and a live version of his latest single, ‘Girl Behind The Glass’

The 11-track LP arrived on Friday, October 7th, via Communion Records.
Photo credit Alex Waespi

Jacob Slater AKA Wunderhorse released his first full-length solo record, ‘Cub’, on Friday, October 7th, and has shared a performance of current single, ‘Girl Behind The Glass’, that was recorded in London’s HOXA HQ.

The album’s arrival follows the release of singles Teal’, ‘Poppy’, ‘17’, ‘Butterflies’, ‘Leader of the Pack’, and ‘Girl Behind The Glass’.

After getting tired of pretending he wanted to, “throw [himself] around and smash things up every night,” as part of the punk outfit Dead Pretties, Slater departed the group in search of peaceful seclusion.

“There’s the old myth that you need to take a load of drugs to be really creative, but I was much more creative when I wasn’t taking drugs,” he recalls. “I wanted to love that part of myself again and I wanted to fall back in love with music again.”

After a stint living with his parents in Hertford, then another one living in the tranquility of Cornwall, Wunderhorse’s first album was recorded in Wales’ infamous Rockfield Studios and released on October 7th via Communion records. On the resulting output, Slater says: “The album is sort of documenting my adolescence.”

With the record out in full, he has also shared a layered rendition of his recent single, ‘Girl Behind The Glass’. Rich in lyricism, emotion and melodies, the footage was captured at London’s HOXA HQ.

You can listen to ‘Cubhere, and watch the live performance of ‘Girl Behind The Glass’ below:

The full ‘Cub’ tracklisting reads as below:

1. Butterflies
2. Leader of the Pack
3. Purple
4. Atlantis
5. 17
6. Teal
7. Poppy
8. Mantis
9. The Girl Behind The Glass
10. Morphine
11. Epilogue

Wunderhorse will play a headline show at London’s Lafayette on October 20th, with tickets available here. He will also be supporting Fontaines D.C. on their UK & Ireland dates towards the end of the year.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Wet Leg are on the 'Chaise Longue' at BBC Radio 1's Big Weekend - watch
Enola Gay brought the noise to Live At Leeds In The Park - photos
Watch Self Esteem do this all the time at BBC Radio 1's Big Weekend