Yard Act have collaborated with Mad Professor on a dub reimagining of their debut album, ‘The Overload’

The dub rework is available on exclusive vinyl via Rough Trade.

Yard Act have shared ‘The Overdub’, Mad Professor’s dub rework of their acclaim debut album, ‘The Overload’.

The album was originally released in January of this year, and went on to be nominated for the Mercury PrizeDork’s 5-star review hailed it as, “funhouse mirror images of believable and multidimensional characters”. Originally sitting in the post-punk sonic vein, the reimagining transforms it into a new genre entirely.

Recalling his own dub record purchases in Leeds’ Jumbo records, frontman James Smith has shared: “I bought the Jah Shaka meets Mad Professor record in Jumbo purely because I liked the artwork and because I thought the name was cool. What a purchase. I’ve been a fan ever since. From his work with Lee Scratch Perry through U-Roy and of course not forgetting his masterful reinterpretation of Massive Attack’s ‘Protection’ – the Mad Prof truly is a living legend and it is an absolute honor to have had him stick his dubby fingers all over ‘The Overload’.”

“We’re such a vocal heavy band by trade, so it’s really ace to hear his reimaginings of the tracks largely stripped of that,” he continues. “His bass-heavy mixes, for me, are a gorgeous reminder of what supports my ramblings, a reminder of the man I made them with, the backbone of this band, and the genesis of all these musical ideas that started off our adventure together. These mixes pay tribute to the man with 4 strings, those low-end things, Mr. Ryan Needham, and whenever I hear this record, not only will I be reminded of the Mad Professor‘s greatness, but of our Ry’s as well. NOW GO BLOW SOME SPEAKERS!”

Mad Professor has added: “‘The Overdub’ is the natural title. When presented with the project, I thought to treat it in the most creative way possible, working with Joe AriwA, Black Steel, and Horseman. Naturally, with such a team, the overdubs came before the dubs!!!”

You can listen to Yard Act & Mad Professor’s ‘Pour More’ below:

You can purchase ‘The Overdubhere – the full tracklist reads as below:

1. The Overdub
2. Horse Meat
3. Pay Dub
4. Richer Dub
5. Dub Incident
6. Dub a Witness
7. Blind Dub
8. Quarantine the Dub
9. Dub Poppies
10. Pour More
11. 100% Dub

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'