YOWL mirror stress and burnout with their new single, ‘The Machine’

The band's new album is coming in September.
Photo credit: Simon Milner

YOWL have released a new single, ‘The Machine’.

It’s the latest cut from their recently-announced, long-awaited debut album, with ‘Milksick’ set for release on 14th September via Clue Records/EMI North.

Vocalist Gabriel Byrde says: “When I write songs it’s often done on a laptop and then taken to the band, where my efforts are reformed into something more musical. ‘The Machine’ features this jumpy, hectic bass part that demonstrates how little I know about actually playing the bass, so it’s a testament to Beck’s ability that the part remains pretty much as it was keyed into Ableton. The whole sound of the track exists in this weird, faux-programmed state that mirrors its agitated themes of stress and burnout.”

Check out the single below.

The album’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. Virile Crocodile Sweat
  2. The Machine
  3. Donkey’s Jawbone
  4. Positive Exit
  5. Canis
  6. The Farmer’s Big Spade
  7. Weedkiller
  8. Weatherman
  9. A. Wegener
  10. Idiot Daughters, Idiot Sons
  11. Billy’s Birds
  12. A Birthday With David

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'