Zola Jesus has announced her new album ‘Okovi’

Check out lead track 'Exhumed' now.
Zola Jesus is back with a brand new album.

Titled ‘Okovi’, the full-length is set to drop on 8th September via Sacred Bones Records. The news comes alongside the lead track from the record, ‘Exhumed’, and with a London show taking place on 7th November at Village Underground.

Got all that? Right. Now check out ‘Exhumed’ below.

In a statement, Zola Jesus explains: “Last year, I moved back to the woods in Wisconsin where I was raised. I built a little house just steps away from where my dilapidated childhood tree fort is slowly recombining into earth. Okovi was fed by this return to roots and several very personal traumas.

While writing Okovi, I endured people very close to me trying to die, and others trying desperately not to. Meanwhile, I was fighting through a haze so thick I wasn’t sure I’d find my way to the other side. Death, in all of its masks, has been encircling everyone I love, and with it the questions of legacy, worth, and will.

“Okovi is a Slavic word for shackles. We’re all shackled to something—to life, to death, to bodies, to minds, to illness, to people, to birthright, to duty. Each of us born with a unique debt, and we have until we die to pay it back. Without this cost, what gives us the right to live? And moreover, what gives us the right to die? Are we really even free to choose?

“This album is a deeply personal snapshot of loss, reconciliation, and a sympathy for the chains that keep us all grounded to the unforgiving laws of nature. To bring it to life, I decided to enlist the help of Alex DeGroot, who has been the only constant in my live band and helped mix the Stridulum EP back in 2010. It will be released on Sacred Bones, the closest group of people I’ll ever have to blood-bound family.”

So there we go.

The tracklist reads:

1. Doma

2. Exhumed

3. Soak

4. Ash to Bone

5. Witness

6. Siphon

7. Veka

8. Wiseblood

9. NMO

10. Remains

11. Half Life

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer