The Driver Era release music video for ‘Fantasy’, a cut from their vibrant ‘Summer Mixtape’

The mixtape marks their return to full-length releases following last year’s ‘Girlfriend’.
Photo credit: Samuel Fisher

The Driver Era have shared a black-and-white music video to accompany the loose and freeing ‘Fantasy’, a cut from their new ‘Summer Mixtape’.

Almost a year after the release of their sophomore record ‘Girlfriend’ – an album Dork said, “might be a little slick for its own good”The Driver Era returned on Friday (16th September) with an 11-track collection of vibrant tracks.

“We always like to express ourselves in a raw, honest way, but this release goes a little bit harder,” Rocky shares. “With ‘Summer Mixtape’, these are songs that are a nod to that state you want to be in — having fun and enjoying life with the people you care about”.

Despite not being released as a single, the lo-fi relaxation of ‘Fantasy’ has been partnered with an alluringly disjointed, black-and-white video accompaniment.

On the track, Ross describes that, “it’s a song that sounds like it’s about ‘sexy time,’ but more importantly it’s about the deep nature of intimacy and learning about how it can grow. Once you’re comfortable and intimate with a certain individual, you think you know everything about them but you’re constantly learning new things about them. It’s a beautiful thing that I’ve learned about monogamy; some think of commitment as confining but I find it to be freeing. ‘Fantasy’ is a song that represents that”.

You can watch the video for ‘Fantasy’ here:

The full tracklist for The Driver Era’s ‘Summer Mixtape’ reads:

1. Malibu
2. Turn the music up
3. I got you, you got me
4. Like a King
5. Fantasy
6. The Money
7. Bronco
8. Back To You
9. Be Happening
10. Endlessly
11. Keep Moving Forward

Ross and Rocky Lynch hit the UK and European roads later this year, as per the tour dates below:

4 London, 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
5 London, 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
7 Birmingham, 02 Institute
8 Newcastle, Newcastle University Students’ Union
10 Glasgow, 02 Academy
11 Dublin, Vicar Street
12 Manchester, Manchester Academy
14 Utrecht, TivoliVredenburg – Ronda
15 Paris, Le Bataclan
17 Barcelona, Razzmatazz

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Declan McKenna has confirmed a new headline tour, including a night at Ally Pally
Torres has announced a new album with "rage song" 'Collect'
Sleater-Kinney have announced their eleventh studio album, 'Little Rope'