Wet Leg have announced their self-titled debut album – check out two new tracks!

Two new cuts - 'Too Late Now' and 'Oh No' - announce the most anticipated debut of 2022.
Photo credit: Sarah Louise Bennett

Wet Leg – the most exciting new band on the planet – have announced the details of their debut album.

The self-titled effort is set to land on 8th April 2022 via Domino, with the news coming alongside two brand new tracks.

Yes – this is officially a POP EMERGENCY, Dear Readers.

The current Dork cover stars and leaders of our Hype List 2022 rundown of our big tips for the year ahead, the much-buzzed-about band are following up on their twin track of 2021 contenders ‘Chaise Longe’ and Wet Dream’.

The two new cuts, ‘Too Late Now’ and ‘Oh No’, are streaming online now. You can check them out below.

Speaking about ‘Too Late Now’, Wet Leg’s Rhian Teasdale reveals: “It is about sleepwalking into adulthood. I never imagined that my adult life would look the way it does and I guess this song reflects on some of the pressures and pulls of life. Sometimes I get really inside my head and everything can feel very overwhelming. I think this song is about accepting that life can feel a bit shit from time to time. Maybe don’t indulge that thought too much though. Just take some time for yourself. Take a breath. Have a bath. It might make you feel a bit better.”

‘Oh No’ is more concerned with the lure of the doom scroll – You know when you’re having dinner with someone, and they check their phone, and just… go?”

The former of the two tracks comes alongside a video directed by Fred Rowson.

The album, ‘Wet Leg’, was recorded and produced by Speedy Wunderground’s Dan Carey, with ‘Chaise Longue’ and ‘Angelica’ produced by Jon McMullen and Josh Mobaraki respectively. Recorded mostly in London in April 2021, it was laid down before any of us had even heard that breakthrough single, or seen the band play live.

“Wet Leg was originally just supposed to be funny,” says Rhian. “As a woman, there’s so much put on you, in that your only value is how pretty or cool you look. But we want to be goofy and a little bit rude. We want to write songs that people can dance to. And we want people to have a good time, even if that might not possible all of the time.”

The tracklist for ‘Wet Leg’ reads:

  1. Being In Love
  2. Chaise Longue
  3. Angelica
  4. I Don’t Wanna Go Out
  5. Wet Dream
  6. Convincing
  7. Loving You
  8. Ur Mum
  9. Oh No
  10. Piece of Shit
  11. Supermarket
  12. Too Late Now

Yes, we’re absolutely here for ‘Ur Mum’. Insert your own punchline here.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Viva Sounds 2023: A winter musical odyssey in Gothenburg
Yard Act have released a new video for 'Petroleum' that stars Rose Matafeo
Primavera Sound Porto has confirmed Lana Del Rey, Pulp, SZA and more