Whenyoung have announced their second album, ‘Paragon Songs’, with the new single, ‘Unchained’

The ten-track project is set to arrive on April 7th via AntiFragile Music.
Photo Credit: Zac Mahrouche

Irish duo Whenyoung have shared ‘Unchained’, a third single from their newly-announced second album, ‘Paragon Songs’.

It follows September’s comeback single, ‘A Little Piece Of Heaven’, which marked the pair’s first new material in over two years, and its recent follow-up, ‘The Laundress’. All three songs will be included in the ten-track project, which is set to arrive in full on April 7th via AntiFragile Music – it follows their 2019 debut album ‘Reasons To Dream’.

The new track features soaring vocals against an affirming percussive backing, letting loose for a full euphoria. Of the track, vocalist Aoife Powers explains: “’Unchained’ was written about a time when I was being made to feel like I was not enough as I am. I felt cramped, stunted, and in turn, obsessed with my weaknesses. Leaving this situation allowed me to regain my self-esteem and release the defensive layer I had used for protection.”

“Every step is a new time in your existence and noting it down marks it, celebrates it and reveals you to yourself,” she shares on the new LP. “These lyrics represent who I am right now or who I’ve been the past year or two. My intention is to like myself and be kinder to myself. And so I can only present myself in the state that I am currently in which is healing not healed.”

You can listen to ‘Unchained’ here:

You can pre-order ‘Paragon Songshere – the full tracklist reads as below:

1. Shame Train
2. Rubiks Cube
3. The Laundress
4. Home Movie
5. Ghost
6. A Little Piece Of Heaven
7. Even More
8. Shed My Skin
9. Unchained
10. Gan Ainm

Whenyoung previously announced a UK & EU tour run for 2023 – tickets are available here, with the full dates as below:

  • cover
    Dork Radio
aespa's potential is undoubtable at London's O2 Arena
Beartooth have booked a new tour of the UK and Europe for 2024
The Last Dinner Party have announced a new show at London's Roundhouse