The BBC has confirmed a multi-media celebration of Stormzy’s cultural impact

The TV and Radio specials are all set to air on November 15th.
Photo credit: Ollie Adegboye

Stormzy is set to feature in a new series of special BBC programming celebrating his music, cultural significance, and new material.

The news follows the recent announcement of the London rapper’s third studio album, ‘This Is What I Mean’, and the release of his new single, ‘Hide & Seek’.

While Stormzy is already set to feature in a BBC series led by documentary filmmaker Louis Theroux, BBC Music has just announcedA Stormzy Special’ in which the grime artist will chat with Radio 2 DJ Trevor Nelson on the upcoming LP, and also perform three tracks from the highly-anticipated record live from Abbey Road Studios. The show will be aired on BBC One, at 10:40pm on Tuesday November 15th, and be available to stream via iPlayer.

Nelson has shared: “I first interviewed Stormzy in 2014 for his debut Live Lounge at 1Xtra and I haven’t interviewed him since then. When I met him he was the hottest new MC in the UK and now he has become a cultural icon. I’m really looking forward to hosting this show and to being able to chat with him once again.”

On the same day, Radio 1, Radio 2, and 1Xtra will celebrate Stormzy’s cultural impact with their own respective audiences through a series of features. Greg James will premier a new album track, ‘Holy Spirit’, on Radio 1 Breakfast, meanwhile The Zoe Ball Breakfast Show (Radio 2) and 1Xtra Breakfast with Nadia Jae (1Xtra) will offer exclusive performance recordings.

Clara Amfo’s Future Sounds will feature a new interview with the British songwriter, as well as the Abbey Road recordings. “It was great to have this special conversation with Stormzy for Future Sounds,” the Radio 1 host has stated. “His artistic evolution has been a joy to watch but more importantly listen to – consistently honest, funny and charming, I’m excited for our listeners to learn about this new part of his career journey.”

Stormzy’s new album, ‘This Is What I Mean’, is set to arrive on November 25th – you can pre-order the record here. The full tracklist reads as below:

1. Fire + Water
2. This Is What I Mean
3. FireBabe
4. Please
5. Need You
6. Hide & Seek
7. My Presidents Are Black
8. Sampha’s Plea
9. Holy Spirit
10. Bad Blood
11. I Got My Smile Back
12. Give It To The Water

Connie Campsie's new single was inspired by acting like a creeper - check out 'Burner'
Kynsy has signed to Nice Swan Records for her new single 'Money'
Molly Payton has shared her new single 'Accelerate', and some tour news